Portraits of Billy and Friends

CUSTOM DESIGN PORTRAITS: Working from a print of another painting my client Billy wanted to capture the settings of another painting/print he previously owned. He requested that I replace the images of both the male and female with his portrait and that of his friend. Which I’ve done in the painting below. However, with this custom design portrait his unique requests did not end there.

Portrait of Billy and Friend

Shernett Art – Portrait of Billy and Friend

The process that went into the transformation and development of this artwork: Billy requested that the race of the woman/skin tone be changed from a black female to a white female. In addition, he requested that the picture of his friend’s head/facial features be put on the woman’s body who is in his original print. Who by the way, was sitting in a laid back position, while the photo I’m working from below is of a woman standing upright.

W.I.P. Portrait of Billy and Friend

Original photo of Billy’s friend used in the above painting.

I highlight these points for clients who have a friend, family member, loved one, pet, or a special event they may wish to make changes to or simply memorialized in a work of art as it is. I will do that with style and in great quality. A client may want people from different photos brought together in a painting with a totally different background scenery or setting. I can do that for anyone with a fairly descent quality photo. If you don’t have a photo I will do a photo shoot based on client’s request.

Original photo of Billy used in the above painting.

Upon replacing the male’s features with Billy’s facial features, I also, had to position Billy’s larger built body frame behind the woman. Quite a challenging and interesting task, but it turned out pretty nice I think. In the photo below I used Photoshop to reverse the head position of the female. I also used it, to cut and pasted the head onto the body position of the female as in the original print. This is so that both her body and face correlated and look as realistic as possible.

 Shernett Art - W.I.P. Portrait of Billy and Friend

Original Photo and Painting In Progress – Portrait of Billy and Friend

The dimensions of the painting on canvas is 24 by 36. The medium being acrylic paints from Heavy and Soft Body Liquitex, and System 3 etc.

W.I.P. Portrait of Billy and Friend

Blending, mixing and exploring colors for woman’s skin tone.

The paint colors for her skin tone was light portrait pink, flesh tone, apricot (peach), unbleached titanium, parchment, titanium white with other color mixtures like a touch of blue-gray, even a touch of very light lavender mixed with the blue-gray. However, had to be really careful with the mixture and application of these colors in her complexion, otherwise she could appear battered and bruised instead of blushingly pink and rosey.

W.I.P. Portrait of Billy and Friend

Shernett Art Work In Progress – Portrait of Billy and Friend

I’ve used the art grid to establish correct layout of concept and proportions.

W.I.P. Portrait of Billy and Friend

Shernett Art – Preliminary sketch laid out on canvas for portrait painting of Billy and friend.

PORTRAIT OF BILLY II
Custom Design Portrait. Again Billy desired to keep the setting and backdrop of a print from a painting he previously purchased. Working from the print Billy requested his image replace the image of the man in the previous painting/print and the female’s race or complexion be changed from a black female to Caucasian. Below is the step-by-step process and development of the completed art work I did for him.

Portrait of Billy

Artwork Painted by Shernett Muhammad

Shernett Art

Painting displayed in Billy’s home.

Shernett Art: Work In Progress

W.I.P. Work In Progress: Portrait of Billy and Friend.

Shernett Art: Work In Progress

W.I.P. Work In Progress: Portrait of Billy and Friend.

Shernett Art: Work In Progress

W.I.P. Work In Progress: Portrait of Billy and Friend.

Shernett Art: Work In Progress

W.I.P. Work In Progress: Portrait of Billy and Friend.

Shernett Art: Work In Progress

W.I.P. Work In Progress: Portrait of Billy and Friend.

Shernett Art: Work In Progress

W.I.P. Work In Progress: Portrait of Billy and Friend.

Shernett Art: Work In Progress

W.I.P. Work In Progress: Portrait of Billy and Friend.

Shernett Art: Work In Progress

W.I.P. Work In Progress: Portrait of Billy and Friend.

Shernett Art: Work In Progress

W.I.P. Work In Progress: Portrait of Billy and Friend.

Shernett Art: Work In Progress

W.I.P. Work In Progress: Portrait of Billy and Friend.

Shernett Art: Work In Progress

W.I.P. Work In Progress: Portrait of Billy and Friend.

Shernett Art: Work In Progress

W.I.P. Work In Progress: Portrait of Billy.

Shernett Art: Work In Progress

W.I.P. Work In Progress: Portrait of Billy and Friend.

PORTRAIT OF BILLY AND FRIEND III

Portrait of Billy and Friend painted by Shernett Muhammad

Portrait of Billy and Friend painted by Shernett Muhammad

Art by Shernett

Original Photo of Billy and Friend

PORTRAIT OF BILLY AND FRIEND IV

Portrait of Billy and Friend painted by Shernett Muhammad

Portrait of Billy and Friend painted by Shernett Muhammad

Portrait of Billy and Friend painted by Shernett Muhammad

Portrait of Billy and Friend painted by Shernett Muhammad

Leave a Reply

